COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE, 6 JULY 2022

Present:

Councillors: Annwen Hughes, Beca Roberts, Delyth Lloyd Griffiths, Edgar Owen, Elfed Powell Roberts, Elin Hywel, Elwyn Edwards, Gruffydd Williams, Gwilym Jones, Kim Jones, Linda Morgan, Llio Elenid Owen, Rob Triggs, Robert Glyn Daniels, Rhys Tudur, Stephen Churchman.

Officers: Llywela Owain (Senior Language and Scrutiny Advisor), Bethan Adams (Scrutiny Advisor), Rhodri Marc Jones (Democracy Services Officer), Lowri Haf Evans (Democracy Services Officer) and Einir Rhian Davies (Democracy Services Officer).

Present for item 8:

Dafydd Wyn Williams (Head of Environment Department) and Bethan Richardson (Climate Change Programme Manager).

1. ELECTION OF CHAIR

RESOLVED elect Councillor Elin Hywel as Chair of the Committee for 2022/23.

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Two names were proposed and seconded for the post of vice-chair, namely Councillor Kim Jones and Councillor Glyn Daniels.

RESOLVED Elect Councillor Kim Jones as Vice-chair of the Committee for 2022/23.

3. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillor Arwyn Herald Roberts and Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn (Council Leader).

4. DECLARATION OF PERSONAL INTEREST

No declarations of personal interest were received.

5. URGENT ITEMS

Concern was expressed regarding the political balance of the committee's membership and that the Committee's work could be a seal of approval exercise.

The Chair gave assurance that the committee would undertake its role of scrutinising the Council and the Cabinet's work.

In response to a question by a member, the Scrutiny Advisor noted there was no specific rule in terms of designating the vice-chairmanship to a political group. She confirmed that the chairmanship was designated to a political group and that a yearly review was held of the scrutiny chairmanship allocation.

6. MINUTES

The Chair signed the minutes of the previous committee meeting held on 10 March, 2022, as a true record.

7. PERFORMANCE MONITORING

Nominations for attending performance challenge meetings were invited. It was explained that the Communities Scrutiny Committee had three specific work areas - Environment, Highways and Municipal, and Gwynedd Consultancy. Attention was drawn to the 'Performance Challenge Guidance for Scrutiny Members' included in the agenda.

RESOLVED:

- Elect Councillors Rhys Tudur and Linda Morgan to attend the Environment work field performance challenge meetings.
- Elect Councillors Stephen Churchman and Arwyn Herald Roberts to attend the Highways and Municipal work field performance challenge meetings.
- Elect Councillors Rob Triggs and Llio Elenid Owen to attend the Gwynedd Consultancy work field performance challenge meetings.

8. CLIMATE AND NATURE BOARD

The Head of Environment Department set out the background and context of the report. He explained that the Cabinet had adopted the Climate and Nature Emergency Plan on 8 March 2022. He detailed on the membership of the Climate and Nature Board which included Cabinet Members and Heads of Departments in the relevant main fields. The Committee was asked to elect a representative for the Climate and Nature Board. RESOLVED elect Councillor Beca Roberts to represent the Committee on the Climate and Nature Board.

CHAIR					
The meeting of	commenced at	10.00am and	concluded at	10.30a	